Avast me hearties R2R has gone global!

I don’t know if you saw Dan’s post the other day about the new app that allows us to see what countries the people reading our blog are from, but I found it very interesting and I have to say there were one or two surprises! Obviously a vast majority of our readers are from the UK, then our second biggest group of readers are from the USA (Hello all our American readers *waves*) but I think the ones that surprised us are Russia, Hong Kong, Peru and Singapore. So I would just like to take this opportunity to say a big thank you to all the fans of our blog where ever you may live and hope you are enjoying reading about our cycling adventure!

It would seem that R2R has another new fan though…. None other than Captain Jack Sparrow!!!

Nikki and Captain Jack

Nikki and Captain Jack

Ok Ok so I admit it’s not the real Captain Jack but his amazing look-a-like Simon Newton, and this wasn’t a random meeting, I am not one of those girls who goes stalking pirate conventions (Honest!), I was a photographer at a pirates themed ball on Saturday night. It was loads of fun and I really enjoyed meeting Captain Jack and of course I told him all about our cycling challenge (I mean seriously is there anyone I don’t tell these days!) and I have noticed that he has kindly mentioned it on his Facebook page… the same Facebook page that has over 10,000 followers so fingers crossed some of those will have a look at what we are doing and maybe donate too!!

Almost forgot to mention I got a picture of Dan and Jack together too….

Dan and Captain Jack

Dan and Captain Jack

Ok so it’s not the real Dan and more like a model of what Dan is going to look like after 9 days of cycling to France!! (Though you would be forgiven for thinking it was the real Dan after all the legs are skinny enough)

For those interested below are a few more pictures of Captain Jack from Saturday night. Once again I just want to say a big thank you to those supporting us and to those who have already donated, if you too would like to donate as we cycle the 650 miles from Rishton, England to Rimbard, France without spending any money, please go to http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/r2rchallenge and please remember that all the money raised is going to the NSPCC to help prevent cruelty to children. Thank you.

Nikki xx

;

Leave a Reply

