“I believe in overdressing. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and… I believe in miracles.”

Evening all,

I am so sorry that there have been no post the last few days, we have had some family drama and I admit that writing a blog post has been the last thing on my mind! But everything has settled down now and I am back with the blog.

So as there is not much to talk about with regards to training, I thought I would talk to you all about something that Dan brought up again today… my bike riding attire!

I know I know I am not your typical bike rider, but seriously can anyone really picture me waking up in a morning and putting this on:

Tradition biking attire...

instead of this…..

MY biking attire

and why? Because I, Nikki, and a vintage-aholic! I seriously love all things vintage and quirky. Even my home has vintage elements to it, so why should my bike riding be any different? You know my basket on my bike has a lot to answer for, every time I sit there and see my little basket while riding along the woody path to my grandma’s house I feel more like I should be appearing in Downton Abbey than Tour de France. Don’t worry I am not that crazy that I am oblivious to the looks I get while dressed like this on my bike, I am well aware that everyone thinks a crazy person from a time machine is riding towards them, but you know what… I don’t care! I love what I wear and I love how it makes me feel while on my bike.  Surely if I am happy and smiley because of what I am wearing, I am thinking less about the pain in my muscles?

So why did what I choose to wear get brought up again today? Well because I think I actually manage to impress Dan today by doing something I didn’t think I would be able to do. I wish I could say it was finishing getting to his house, or maybe getting up the killer hills from Whalley, they are things that I maybe should be working towards, but saying that it doesn’t mean I am not proud of my achievement. Today I managed to ride a bike in a pencil skirt!!! My excitement for this is purely because 85% of the skirts I own are pencil skirts so by learning to ride my bike in one, I have opened up the other half of my wardrobe for the winter season, big yay for me!! I can tell you are all so pleased for me!

Today I looked exactly like I had stepped out of the 1920’s complete with pencil skirt, silk shirt, red cloche hat (which by the way got numerous compliments) and my stunning red coat… oh yeah and of course killer black peep toes! Just to complete the look this is what I was listening to on my iPod:

(Yes it is from The Notebook – are you surprise? I hope by now you have all watched it of course so you should know exactly which scene it’s from!)

But this was just a one-off right? Surely I am telling you all this for the sake of a fun blog read and normally I wear leggings and trainers right… yeah not so much. On Sunday when I went to lay flowers of my granddad’s grave I wore a black 1940’s dress I bought from a vintage store in Manchester, my black coat, red leather gloves and my read beret and of course those stilettos again.

So this is where Dan and I differ slightly, I see no reason why riding my bike should get in the way of style and fashion and what makes me feel pretty, where as Dan tells me again and again I must get used to proper cycling gear as I will be wearing it when I cycle to France. So I ask you why must I wear spandex just to cycle across the country, can’t I wear my vintage clothes, wouldn’t you all rather see that on the film and photos?!?  I think it will make us stand out more and people more likely to donate, Dan thinks it will mean people won’t donate as they won’t take me seriously, what are your opinons? Should I go for cycle wear or not in April? Hey maybe I should go the vintage look whole hog and get myself a different bike… maybe one more like this…

A more fitting bike for me maybe.

Maybe bike riding is in my genes… while researching my family tree I have found out that my great-grandfather, Ernest Rogers, was a Postman at the turn of the 1900’s. He had the uniform, the bike and everything. His route was round Wavertree and Edge Hill in Liverpool. So if he could do each day, everyday for miles why can’t I?

Mr Vintage Postman

In other news, training on the bike is going well, Dan is planning a crazy route but I will let him tell you about that with his blog entry later in the week, and planning is definitely full steam ahead with regards to the quiz night on the 8th December. I am so grateful to the wonderful generous contributions from the local shops and businesses. The quiz night is sure to be a wonderful evening so I hope to see you all there!

So I am afraid this is where I am going to leave you all for tonight, but of course not without one last amusing picture. While searching for the above picture of a vintage bike, I came across an early invention of a tandem bike… now I just have to convince Dan how much fun it would be to ride to France on this….

A bicycle made for two.

If you are enjoying our blogs and following our progress on this long journey please consider supporting us and donating at http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/r2rchallenge all money raised will go to the NSPCC to help stop cruelty to children. Thank you.

Nikki xx

p.s. Today’s worlds longest titles comes courtesy of a quote by Audrey Hepburn.

One response to ““I believe in overdressing. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and… I believe in miracles.”

  1. There is no need for anyone to wear spandex/lycra while cycling. although wearing vintage clothing may be taking it a little too far. I just cycle in baggy shorts and a tshirt, and now its a little colder my fleece and gloves.

Leave a Reply

