News flash: Bike riders disease is spreading across the world!

Pour lire dans le clic français ici.

I officially have the Bike Riders Disease… don’t worry I don’t think its contagious.

BRD (not to be confused with BIRD disease) affects those who come into regular contact with a vehicle with only two wheels and pedals. Symptoms of this disease are few, but noticeable, and effect 100% of those diagnosed with BRD.

The symptoms of this terrible disease include:

  • an insatiable desire to get on a bike,
  • the suddenly noticing of bike riders everywhere,
  • suddenly finding their attention being distracted by cycle lanes and bike stands everywhere,
  • finding themselves watching and reading articles about the humble bicycle itself,
  • and those with the full-blown illness will find themselves talking about bikes in some way in every conversation.

There is no word yet on if there is a cure for this terrible disease, but as a suffer of BRD I am hoping a cure can be found by the end of April…

 A victim of this sad disease.

Ok so all joking aside, there is clearly no disease called BRD sorry if anyone was getting worried then that they had it, you may laugh but I am sure there is a hypochondriac out there somewhere that just believed me.

I admit I found the picture above rather amusing, having worked in a funeral service for many years now I have seen many types and styles of coffin and hearse but this is a new one on me. So as is my way I had to go research this:

  The bike hearse (and two slightly too cheery pallbearer, they do know they are going a funeral don’t they?)

Turns out pedal power is the way forward when it comes to getting to your funeral.. or so a Birmingham Funeral firm is saying. I admit people are tying to go green when it comes to saying farewell to loved ones and even at my little funeral service in Rishton I have notice more and more people asking for cardboard and willow coffins as they are better for the environment (though don’t get me started on cardboard coffins). I have to wonder though if cycling to the church is maybe just a step too far in trying to be green. Do you really want two hot sweaty pallbearers pulling up at the church on their bike in their full suits and top hats with your loved one strapped to the side of their bike? And what do the rest of the funeral possession do? All don bikes as well and cycle behind you? I can’t see it taking off personally, but this is what the creator from Ian Hazel Funerals in Birmingham said:

“There is more concern about the environment these days and people often ask how eco-friendly are our coffins. Although our standard range of coffins use recycled timber and hardwood veneers from managed forests, people are now asking for wicker or bamboo coffins in increasing numbers. To reduce the funeral carbon footprint still further, we can now provide a bicycle hearse to deliver the eco-coffin to the cemetery or crematorium”

If you want to read the full article you can here: http://www.birminghammail.net/news/top-stories/2011/05/04/pedal-power-for-birmingham-eco-funerals-97319-28629843/

So what do you think, would you want to be pedaled to the church at your funeral?  (Mother I know you are reading this and want something different at your funeral but you can forget it if you think I am pedaling!)

Speaking of the death of things, my bike is definitely sick at the moment, I am hoping it isn’t critical as my little one is only a week old. Thankfully at 3.30pm tomorrow it is going to the bike doctors at Blackburn cycle & Scooter center. As Dan told you yesterday its having a slight problem with the gears which meant that today was the first day since I had it I haven’t been able to go on the bike whether I wanted to or not. I have to say I have missed my bike, I haven’t  known what to do with myself today. Oh dear maybe BRD is a real thing after all…

To help me survive my fate of living with BRD please sponsor our efforts at www.virginmoneygiving,com/r2rchallenge and help us to raise money for the NSPCC. Thank you so much.

Nikki xx

2 responses to “News flash: Bike riders disease is spreading across the world!

  1. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog site. I too am an aspiring blog site writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog site writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Hi there, I am really glad you are enjoying our blog, we are both enjoying doing it and its raising money for such a great cause so bonus’ all around! As for advice I am afraid I don’t really have any, I just seem to be blagging it and people seem to be enjoying reading my entries, which I admit came as a bit of a surprise to me! I think the only advice I can give is just read lots, read others blogs see what works, read books and read articles, anything really. Find something you enjoy talking about as well, that will always help make your blog more interesting if its something you have a passion in, and find your style of writing, I seem to like adding photos and not taking myself too seriously where as dan is definately the more serious one of the two of us! Thank you once again for reading out blog and I hope you continue to enjoy it. – Nikki xx

Leave a Reply

